Figgy Cottage

W

e have a name for the new house, Figgy Cottage! It came to me after we purchased two potted Fig trees for the entrance from Keven Hawkins. I know fig trees can’t survive the winters in these North Carolina mountains, but that’s where the new Orangerie–formerly the Hot Tub room–comes into play! Just think of all of the great fruits and flowers I can grow now. And besides, I can already see the cocktail napkins, ‘I don’t give a Fig.’

‘Before’ picture of ‘Figgy Cottage’

‘Before’ no windows in the front–so unwelcoming

The left side of the entry was hidden by large plants–nothing but potential here!

Charming entry and gate-such an inspiration

And then there’s the view–just makes me smile every time I see it.

The ‘After’ for Figgy Cottage will be posted ASAP–when completed—but remember we are on ‘Mountain Time.’

xo♥, Lissy

This entry was posted in Entertaining, Mountain houses, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to Figgy Cottage

  1. Stacy O'Neill says:

    Love the name of the new cottage and the view is spectacular! Hope to share a cocktail with you up there one day this summer.
    Lissy, you are so talented!

  2. Katie Hamilton says:

    What a sweet place…and great name!!!

  3. Cathy Garrett says:

    Love the name! It is so charming! I love it when people name there homes. Can’t what to see the after photo’s!

  4. Kay Cheetham says:

    I love the name, too. Now you can become a pot farmer-that is potted plants farmer! I love the view! ” I will lift up mine eyes to the mountaina from where shall my help come? My help comes from the Lord, the maker of heaven and earth.” Ps 121-the Berry College Psalm.

  5. william parker says:

    Ok—Figgy it is!

  6. Love Figgy, and all houses should have names. Is you view of Whiteside Mountain? Spectacular!

  7. Suzette Parker says:

    This is going to be so beautiful! I can’t wait to see “Figgy” when she makes her debut!!!!

  8. Suzette Parker says:

    This is terrific Lissy!!! I can’t wait to see “Figgy” make her debut! You are the best Lissy! Amazing talent!

  9. holly says:

    love the name!!! great view!!! happy memorial day weekend!!!
    xo

Leave a comment